Possible FanFic? I’ll Let You Decide

CampNaNoWriMo is over for July 2018, and I have to admit, this month was amazing. For the first time in forever (hehe, Frozen reference), I have “won.” In April, my word goal was 25,000 words, and I barely made just over 5,000 words. July, I decided to have a smaller word count. I never thought that I would write over 10,000 words for the idea I had, which was to write about one of my previous jobs. I honestly have no idea how I did it. The total words I wrote came up to be 11,351 words! I know just about 1,000 of those words were for something completely different and not for my project. This was something I wrote during one of the virtual writing ins they had on YouTube. It was actually a dream I had the night before. I am not sure if I am going to continue it or what, but I figured I’d share it here with you. So, here it is in its unedited form:


It wasn’t long before the world around me started to go black. We were running through the dark thick smoke away from something, but what can we run from. There wasn’t much time left before the world as we know it would come to an end. People were scurrying, running, just trying to get away, but to no avail. It was no use. The world around us was crumbling down, and it was all thanks to those aliens that just happen to pop out of nowhere and ruin everything. Once my life was just getting settled down, aliens, aliens always have to ruin something. It never fails, right. No matter what happens, aliens seem to be the envy of me.
The smell of burning metal and gasoline filled the air. I kept running trying not to look behind me. A loud crash came from behind me, and I broke my concentration and looked behind me. A large robotic object, probably standing twenty if not more feet tall. It was black and thick smoke flowed all around the bottom of it. The object itself seemed to have leg like structures on it allowing it to walk through the destruction that laid on the ground beneath it. I broke my stare of it and kept running. Car parts and sparks flying all around me as people scattered around. No where was safe. I jump over a what looked like a car door with the glass window busted. I stopped, skidding me feet across the pavement, just as a large, burning tractor trailer truck tire bounced on the ground in front of me.
“Whew, that was a close one,” I said to myself, wiping the sweat off my forehead. That could have been the end of me.
I continued on under the under pass. Cars and trucks were still driving on the the road above me unaware of the mass destruction underneath them. I stayed close to the side walk that ran under the under pass. I couldn’t be on the side walk as there was no way to get on it. There was burning car parts blocking the entrance to the sidewalk, and a protective barrier that runs down the road side of the side walk. I am in no way going to jump over the four and a half foot barrier. The underpass had four car lanes of road that ran underneath it and four car lanes of road that ran above me. To my right, a car came speeding by me, and I watched as it crashed into the four deserted cars in front of me. The car bursted into flames on impact, presumably killing the driver. I covered my face to avoid the sparks. I dashed past the burning cars checking to see if the driver miraculously survived. From what I can see, he did not, but then again, it is really hard to see the through smoke that quickly filled the car’s interior. I was not about to go any where near that car, and risk my life for someone who is probably already gone. I felt really bad about it, but I continued on thinking about the man. What if the man was still alive? I would have to tend to his injuries and that would slow me down, putting us both in danger. But what if, it was my fault that he died? Because I didn’t go get him out, he died and it was my fault. But what if he was already gone by the time the cars collided? I shook the thoughts from my mind and kept running. I don’t know what I was really running from any more. The aliens were going to wipe out everyone and everything. There’s nothing that could be done. Everyone was going to die eventually. Unless. Unless we can make it out. But what the use?! What if we did make it out and everything would be ok. I doubt it. Those that do survive, probably won’t survive the injuries they’ve sustained.
Another one of those huge robotic creature crossed in front of me. The air around me was extremely hot, and I looked up to see the opening of what I thought was a gun pointed down at me from the alien ship thing. A small red glow began to form in the opening. I jump out of the way and behind the shell of a burned car. The spot were I was just standing exploded in a fiery ball of flames. The huge alien robot stepped across the flames and kept shooting balls of fire at the ground beneath it. A man appeared dodging the flames came running toward me. He grabbed my arm and we kept running. The farther we ran, the less carnage that was around. We made it to the town line, and we were finally made it out of Holyoke, the ground zero of this alien invasion. We stopped, crouched on the ground behind a building with our backs to the death and destruction the was brought to this town that already had so much wrong with it. I questioned why the aliens chose Holyoke as a place to wreck havoc. I believe Westfield would have been a better decision. Annihilating Westfield, sounds like a good plan, and besides no one would notice it was gone any way. Between the potholes, the idiots running the town and the fact that we can’t drink or use the water that we pay for on a daily basis, I don’t think any one would be missing Westfield.
The man placed his hand on my shoulder. “Are you ok?” He asked.
I nodded my head, still trying to catch my breath. It’s hard to run and breath at the same time when you asthma.
He smiled through the soot and ash that covered his face. He got up from his crouched state, while I sat down with my legs stretched out in front of me, a much more comfortable position. Sometimes, I think I have knee problems. Other times, I thinks it’s just because I don’t move about as much as I should, but either way, crouching starts to hurt after a while. The man peered around the corner of the building.
“Any one coming?” I asked quietly.
“They are,” he replied.
I crawled over in between him and the building. The aliens were coming, but they weren’t coming very fast. They were taking their sweet time, probably making sure everything is dead before moving on. I crawled back to my spot, and the man sat down beside me.
“There isn’t much time,” He said. I nodded. “The name’s Skipper.”
He reached out his hand, and I shook it. Skipper. Could it be? I really don’t think so, but if it is, what did Kowalski do? I shook off the idea. It couldn’t be him. Not here. Not now.
He went on to explain that he and his three brothers were visiting the area, and he was separated from them. Ok, so maybe it could be the penguin. The idea is looking more and more plausible the longer he keeps talking.
After a while of sitting behind the building, he gets up. “Come on, we have to get moving before they get here,” He said lending me his hand to help me get up.
“But do you know where we’re going?” I asked brushing the dirt off my pants.
“Any where but here,” he replied. He turned looking back towards where the aliens originally were.
“I know where we could go,” I said softly. He turned to me, a puzzling look on his face. “It’s about a 15 minute drive to my house from here, so its going to be about an hour walk, and then its another hour to the safest place I know.”
“Well, then we better get going.”

Well, that’s about it. I do have more written for this, but it looks like the start of another chapter. Any who, what do you think? Possible fanfiction perhaps? Got an idea for a possible title? Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to here from you!

I found out that I can change the color of the font, but I can’t change the font itself. :/

Oh hey! Before I let you go, let me tell you about the petition I signed. Back in 2002, a show called The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius started on Nickelodeon. The show starred a ten year old genius and his friends, who would go on crazy adventures.  They lived a town called Retroville. The show ended back in 2006, and fans were upset with the way it ended. With Nickelodeon reviving old shows such as The Rugrats and Invader Zim, the fans of Jimmy Neutron wanted to see a revival of the show as well. I don’t know when, but they started a petition to get the show back for a fourth season. If you want to help bring back the show, click here to sign the petition.

Well, that’s about it, so TTFN!!!

 

Leave a comment